FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



CONTACT: Cynthia Avery (312) 664-3575 cavery@acpe-accredit.org

March 28, 2019

ACPE Announces New Commissioners and Board Liaisons for 2019-2020

Chicago, IL – The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) Board of Directors is pleased to announce professional appointments to their Commissions and has named official Board Liaisons for 2019-2020.

Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) Commission

ACPE has made three new appointments to the CPE Commission. The CPE Commission is responsible for recommending policies and procedures for the ACPE CPE Provider Accreditation program, assisting in strategic planning, contributing to the planning of ACPE's CPE conferences, reviewing ACPE-accredited providers' comprehensive reports, and recommending accreditation actions to the ACPE Board of Directors. **Lindsay Kaster, Jennifer L. Pauley, and Virginia (Ginger) G. Scott** will join the Commission through December 31, 2021.

- Lindsay Kaster, PharmD, BCOP, currently serves as the Associate Chief of Pharmacy in Inpatient Services and as Clinical Pharmacy Specialist of Oncology/Hematology with Boise Veterans Affairs Medical Center.
- Jennifer L. Pauley, BS, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP, is the Clinical Coordinator and Director of PGY2 Oncology Residency at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.
- Virginia (Ginger) G. Scott, PhD, MS, RPh, FAPhA, is a Professor and Director of Continuing Education for the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy.

Marie A. Chisholm-Burns, PharmD, MPH, MBA, FCCP, FASHP, was re-appointed as the ACPE Board Liaison to the CPE Commission. Dr. Chisholm-Burns is the Dean at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy and Professor of Surgery in the College of Medicine. Tammie Armeni, PharmD will serve as Chair of the CPE Commission and Barbara Jolly, RPh, MPA will serve as Vice Chair. ACPE would like to recognize and congratulate outgoing members Richard Artymowicz, Dennis Brierton, and Anita Young for their professional contributions to the objectives of the CPE Commission.

International Commission (IC)

The IC oversees the programs, activities and services of the International Services Program (ISP) and advises the ACPE Board on international efforts to improve the quality of pharmacy education, enhancing the knowledge and skills of pharmacists around the world. The ACPE Board has appointed **Michael D. Katz** and **Yen Huei (Tony) Tarn** as Commissioners.

- Michael D. Katz, PharmD, is Professor of the Pharmacy Practice and Science Department and Director of the College of Pharmacy International Programs and Residency Programs at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy. He was appointed for a 3-year term as a new member of the IC.
- Yen Huei (Tony) Tarn, MS, PhD, Adjunct Professor at the Kaohsiung Medical University School of Pharmacy in Taipei, Taiwan, was reappointed for a second term on the IC and will serve through January 2022.

Timothy L. Tucker, PharmD, was appointed as the ACPE Board Liaison to the IC. He is the Owner of City Drug Company in Huntingdon, Tennessee, and is a practicing community-based pharmacist. **Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA** was appointed as IC Chair and **Abeer M. Al-Ghananeem, PhD** was named Vice Chair/Chair Elect. ACPE would like to extend its appreciation to **Martha M. Rumore, PharmD, JD, MS, LLM, FAPhA,** former board member who previously served as the ACPE Board Liaison and to **Indra Reddy, PhD** for six years of service on the International Commission.

Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission (PTAC)

Denise Frank, RPh, Program Director for Career Step, a distance learning online pharmacy technician education program, was approved to join the PTAC by both ACPE and ASHP at their January 2019 Board meetings. She will serve a three-year term. Denise has served as a member of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy for eight years and participated in several NABP committees during that time. **Michael A. Moné, BS Pharm, JD, FAPhA,** has been appointed as the ACPE Board Liaison to the PTAC. Mr. Moné serves as the Vice President Associate General Counsel-Regulatory for Cardinal Health.

"ACPE is fortunate to have distinguished leaders that share our mission of assuring and advancing excellence in education for the profession of pharmacy. Our leaders are widely recognized for their contributions to our profession, both within the United States and internationally, and we are pleased to have each one engaged as vital contributors in leading ACPE," said Peter H. Vlasses, PharmD, DSc (Hon), ACPE Executive Director.



Pictured left to right – Timothy L. Tucker, Board Liaison to the IC; Marie A. Chisholm-Burns, Board Liaison to the CPE Commission; Michael A. Moné, Board Liaison to the PTAC.

About the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

ACPE is the national agency for the accreditation of professional degree programs in pharmacy and providers of continuing pharmacy education. In collaboration with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, ACPE accredits pharmacy technician education and training programs. ACPE also offers evaluation and certification of professional degree programs internationally. The mission of ACPE is to assure and advance excellence in education for the profession of pharmacy. ACPE is an autonomous and independent agency whose Board of Directors is derived through the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP), and the American Council on Education (ACE). To learn more about ACPE, visit www.acpe-accredit.org or follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter.